Offer it up

Knocked Over By A Feather

I remember my uncle Jerry used to tell my brother and I this anytime we complained about something. “Offer it up.” He was one of those devout Catholics who believed that God could fix all, if only we would ask. I stubbed my toe! Offer it up! My best friend said something mean to me. Offer it up! Just give it to God, he will take it away. My brother and I offered plenty back then.

I never really got the whole religion thing even as a youngster. I went to church, said my prayers like a good little Catholic girl in my plaid uniform and chose my confirmation name. (Helen) When given the decision to further my Catholic education into high school, I picked public instead. My father had passed away right before I started  the seventh grade, and since my mother didn’t push it on me, it was…

View original post 529 more words

