Health Benefits of Red Wine

My Permanent Diet

One of the best decisions I’ve ever made was to quit drinking. Drinking was a part of my social life. My friends didn’t get together to sit around and drink tea. We would consume a few (too many) drinks and then head downtown for a night of dancing. Not only was this detrimental for my emotional health (with alcohol being a depressant), but I soon realized that it was very hard on my body (and I’m not just talking about the painful hangovers that ensued).

What does alcohol do to the body? Medicinenet.com explains:

“There’s no denying that too much alcohol can lead to serious problems. Excess alcohol can increase your risk of:

  • Liver disease
  • High blood pressure
  • High blood fats (triglycerides)
  • Heart failure
  • Stroke
  • Fetal alcohol syndrome (if you’re pregnant)
  • Certain cancers
  • Injury, violence, and death

And, of course, drinking too much alcohol piles on the calories, which can…

View original post 498 more words

